Bahrain Outer Circuit

Location Sakhir Track Length 3.543 km Laps 57
Lap Record NA LapRecordDriver NA

Sakhir Grand Prix F1 circuit guide

The Bahrain International Circuit has played host to the Bahrain Grand Prix since 2004, but in 2020 the world of motorsport was introduced to the Sakhir Grand Prix, held on the 'Outer Circuit'.

Based in Sakhir, the 'Grand Prix Circuit' covers a distance of 3.363 miles and features 15 turns, and hosted the first Formula 1 race in the Middle East.

This layout has been used for all but one race at the Bahrain International Circuit, the exception being 2010 when the 'Endurance Circuit' was used, and now Formula 1 gets to see the third of six available layouts at the venue.

Initially the Bahrain Grand Prix was held during daylight hours, but from 2014, to commemorate the tenth anniversary of the first staging of the Bahrain Grand Prix, the event became a night race, and the Sakhir Grand Prix will also be held under the floodlights.

Sebastian Vettel is the most successful F1 driver in Bahrain with four wins, while Ferrari have a record six victories to their name, but the Outer Circuit is a totally different challenge.

Sakhir Grand Prix F1 circuit information

The name Outer Circuit is quite a giveaway. Simply this layout is effectively an oval but with 11 turns thrown in to the mix.

This one is about pure power as Formula 1's engine manufacturers go head-to-head to prove where they stand in the pecking order. That being said, don't neglect the downforce as the brakes are by no means a passenger.

Turn 1 - The same main straight into the slow 90-degrees right which features on Formula 1's regular Grand Prix Circuit.
Turn 2 - A left kink where the wide track and kerbs allow the drivers to continue their acceleration uninterrupted.
Turn 3 - Barely a turn, just a slight adjustment to the right and easily full throttle.
Turn 4 - A short straight into another sharp right but the track opens up as the drivers accelerate out, use the left kerb on exit.
Turn 5 - A minor left turn.
Turn 6 - A right curve taken flat out.
Turn 7 - On the brakes for this left bend which is rather tight and creeps up fast.
Turn 8 - A quick sweep to the right, taking some kerb for good measure to nail the apex.
Turn 9 - A minor right kink to take drivers on to the back straight.
Turn 10 - The brakes have one more workout to negotiate this right turn.
Turn 11 - Effectively the exit of Turn 10 so just take the kerb to secure the best exit down the main straight and make sure to obey track limits.

Sakhir Grand Prix schedule: 2020 Sakhir Grand Prix

Friday, December 4, FP1: 1630-1800

Friday, December 4, FP2: 2030-2200

Saturday, December 5, FP3: 1800-1900

Saturday, December 5, Qualifying: 2100

Sunday, December 6, Race: 2010

Sakhir Grand Prix tickets: how to get them for the big race

Ticket information for the 2020 Sakhir Grand Prix is yet to be confirmed, so the Formula 1 website is asking for fans to fill out a contact form so that they can be given all the information once it becomes available. and are also asking people to fill out a contact form on their websites.

Sakhir Grand Prix directions: how to get there

Bahrain International Airport (BAH) is situated just east of Bahrain’s capital, Manama. Bahrain's Gulf Air is based there and offers direct flights from the Middle East, Europe and parts of Asia.

From there a taxi is the best option since public transport doesn't service the circuit.

But, it's Bahrain after all, so how does a private chauffeur-driven car or limo sound? Also note that the race organizers put on a free shuttle bus from the airport to the circuit and to/from selected hotels during race week.

Sakhir Grand Prix history, memorable races and past winners

The Outer Circuit makes its debut on the F1 calendar in 2020, but the Bahrain International Circuit has proven over the years to be one of the best racing venues that Formula 1 has to offer.

For context, Sebastian Vettel has found the most success in Bahrain with four wins, while Ferrari lead the Constructors' chart on six wins.

Drivers with most wins

Sebastian Vettel, 4 wins (2012, 2013, 2017, 2018)

Fernando Alonso, 3 wins (2005, 2006, 2010)

Lewis Hamilton, 3 wins (2014, 2015, 2019)

Felipe Massa, 2 wins (2007, 2008)

Teams with most wins

Ferrari, 6 wins (2004, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2017, 2018)

Mercedes, 4 wins (2014, 2015, 2016, 2019)

Renault, 2 wins (2005, 2006)

Red Bull, 2 wins (2012, 2013)

Last 10 wins

2019 - Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
2018 - Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari
2017 - Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari
2016 - Nico Rosberg, Mercedes
2015 - Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
2014 - Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
2013 - Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull
2012 - Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull
2010 - Fernando Alonso, Ferrari
2009 - Jenson Button, Brawn

Bahrain International Circuit F1 circuit fastest lap

The 2020 Sakhir Grand Prix will allow one lucky driver to go down in the history books by setting the benchmark with a fastest lap.

Bahrain International Circuit F1 Outer Circuit: what the drivers say

They will all get their first taste of the Outer Circuit during the 2020 Sakhir Grand Prix race weekend.