McLaren F1 Team Profile 1
Constructor Standings 2021
POS   Points
3 McLaren 163
Drivers 2021

Results 2021

McLaren Team Profile

The much-celebrated McLaren Formula 1 team was born in 1966 with founder Bruce McLaren at the helm and behind the wheel.

The New Zealander spent five years racing for his team before he was tragically killed when his Can-Am car crashed at Goodwood Circuit in 1970. McLaren's legacy continued.

The team continued to operate with Emerson Fittipaldi winning McLaren's first World title in 1974, powered by a Ford Cosworth engine.

McLaren claimed a second Drivers' title in 1976 with James Hunt before the real glory days arrived in the 1980s after McLaren merged with Ron Dennis' Project Four Racing.

The team won five World titles between 1984 and 1989 and four Constructors'. This was during the days of Alain Prost versus team-mate Niki Lauda and Prost versus his next team-mate, Ayrton Senna.

Senna added two more titles to McLaren's tally with wins in 1990 and 1991 before he left the team for Williams.

Losing Honda power at the end of 1992, McLaren's results began to falter and it wasn't until they signed with Mercedes engines that they returned to championship glory.

The team won the 1998 and 1999 Drivers' title with Mika Hakkinen, also taking the Constructors' in '98.

Although McLaren remained up there over the following decade, the team had to wait until Lewis Hamilton in 2008 to win another title, the Drivers'.

That year, though, McLaren were excluded from the teams' standings for Spygate, found guilty of being in possession of secret Ferrari technical documents.

Spygate came to a head as McLaren's latest driver feud, this time between Hamilton and Fernando Alonso, spilled over.

2008 would prove to be McLaren's last year up in P1 as, at least according to Dennis, they began to feel the effects of being a customer team after Mercedes bought Brawn GP to create a works outfit.

This led to McLaren parting ways with Mercedes in 2014 and bringing back Honda. But rather than the glory days returning with the Japanese manufacturer, McLaren finished ninth, sixth and ninth in their three years together.

The team dropped Honda in favour of Renault power but announced their return to Mercedes from 2021.

They signed off from the Renault era in style, claiming P3 in the Constructors' Championship to follow on from P4 in 2019, picking up three podium finishes in that time.

For 2021 Daniel Ricciardo brings race-winning experience to the team alongside Lando Norris, creating one of the most entertaining while fearsome partnerships on the grid.

McLaren Team News

McLaren Team Photos