Racing Point

Racing Point F1 Team Profile
Constructor Standings 2020
POS   Points
3 Racing Point 126
Drivers 2020

Results 2020

Racing Point Team Profile

Force India, sorry, Racing Point is a team that has run in Formula 1 under many a moniker and almost as many owners.

It started life as Jordan Grand Prix, owned by Eddie Jordan, became Midlands, then Spyker and then Force India. By that time Indian business Vijay Mallya was the man in charge.

After years of punching above their weight, Force India began to lose the development war as funds became scarce and updates few and far between.

This led to the team being placed into administration, unable to pay its many creditors, which included driver Sergio Perez. In fact he triggered the administration.

Mallya sold the team to Lawrence Stroll midway through 2018, the billionaire and his Canadian consortium rebranded it Racing Point.

Stroll set about paying off the team's debts and plugging money into what was otherwise a bankrupt situation.

2019 marked Racing Point's first official season in Formula 1. It also heralded the arrival of Lance Stroll to the team, arguably the most secure driver in F1 given that his dad is his employer. He was partnered with the ever-impressive Perez.

Perez, as to be expected, led the charge for Racing Point, scoring 52 points while Stroll managed just 21. One could argue that even that was impressive from Stroll given that he spent most of the campaign failing to make it out of Q1 as he struggled in qualifying sessions.

The team suffered as a result of the previous year’s financial situation meaning they started 2019 with a car that wasn’t quite up to scratch. However, as the year progressed and Stroll’s money meant they could afford to upgrade the car, they did. That led to a late season surge with Perez scoring in all but one of the nine post-summer break races.

However, Racing Point's P7 in the championship marked the Silverstone-based team's worst performance in six years and only the second time in that period that Perez wasn’t able to reach the podium.

The team has retained Perez and Stroll for the 2020 championship.

Racing Point Team News

Racing Point Team Photos